Book Critics?

Kate Beth Heywood

I finally succumbed to the pressure of showing my work to somebody. It was just the first 7000 words of my newest novel and it was well and truly in its first draft. All my fellow writers will know what that means and will probably be groaning that I showed it to somebody at such a rough stage.

And rightly so.

I am still forming the story; still forming the characters; still forming the theme. The scenes were a little jumbled up as they’ll, of course, be put in best order later. Some crap scenes and lines were still in there but would probably be completely re-written or culled completely later. Even the names of the characters, and some of the characters themselves are subject to change.

However, my lovely sister took a look at it for me. Probably simply because I wanted somebody to rave, ‘this is brilliant!’ if I’m…

View original post 168 more words

Leave a Reply

