I Never Learn

Kate Beth Heywood

Despite my previous blog post discussing the trials and tribulations of that famed nemesis for writers, ‘the difficult second novel,’ I have to admit that I did not reallybelieve in Second Novel Syndrome.

You would think that by the age of thirty-six, I would have learnt that dismissal and judgement will only ever come back to bite me in the arse, wouldn’t you? (A bit like pre-children, I judged the parents of badly behaved children. Wow, did I pay for that one.) But no. I recall seeing a fellow writer lamenting the writing of her second novel and I smugly thought that I would have no such problems.

I’m sure you can see where this is leading.

Damn, am I stuck. I decided to finish a book I started to write four years ago. Last week I continued writing it before realising that it was going nowhere. So, I…

View original post 117 more words

Leave a Reply

