Stop the Hatred Now

P-Squared

(oversimplification alert)

It starts innocently enough.

A friend posts a story that makes up details and marginalizes one group of people at the expense of another and I repost it…

Or… I share my prejudices with my child in an angry fashion, so that they pick it up and believe the same thing… even though the story that I read and reposted and then read aloud to my son was innacurate in the first place. I might even say that I don’t think a particular kind of person deserves to live.

Now my son sees the world through a lens that is tainted by lies, fear, prejudice and a sense that the world is against him and he sets his teeth on edge and then seethes quietly, raging inside against a world that actually doesn’t exist, but I made real enough in my hate and anger and fear and prejudice…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

